Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force III SFIII Translation Project
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

help with patching scenario 3

A place for those working on the Shining Force III Translation Patch.

help with patching scenario 3

Postby bleu7384 » Thu Aug 24 2017 8:13pm

Hello

I have all 3 scenarios in Japanese and I played through them on an emulator as they were a number of years ago.
I have just completed scenario 1 again so I thought I would actually try and patch scenarios 2 and 3 this time.
I have successfully patched scenario 2 and I have mounted the cue file via Daemon tools so that it plays on SSF.
So I thought I would try Scenario 3 while it was fresh on my mind, it started to patch the file, but about 3/4 of the way through my computer gave me a error message, I tried it again and the same thing happened, the third time my computer said straight away 'Unable to copy over all files from CD'

Is this something anyone has had a problem with before? is it possibly to do with memory on my computer.
I'm not too fused as I have to play through scenario 2 first and I will play through the 3rd scenario in Japanese again if need be, but its just a shame as I got scenario 2 up and running...

Any help would be appreciated, i'm not too tech savvy so if it involves me changing loads of files I will leave it, but if it sounds like an easy fix i'll give it a go.

Cheers

(I've tried scenario 2 since I wrote this, its has Medion's saved as his Japenese name!, i'm guessing everyone I've named in scenario 1 will be like this but i'll have to wait n see, its just nice having some English text though)
bleu7384

Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 25 2013 1:45pm

Re: help with patching scenario 3

Postby Swalchy » Thu Aug 24 2017 10:25pm

Hi bleu - have you tried running the Patcher as an administrator? Right click the programme - run as administrator should do the trick.

If you want, using your original Scenario 3 CD, you should be able to create an ISO of it or a CUE + BIN, which should hopefully do a full clone of the disc with no issue. You can them mount this in Daemon Tools, and use the Patcher to create a patched Scenario 3 from that.

Let us know if you're still having issues/need something above explained in a bit more detail :)
The Way To Yahuweh

Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
The Way To Yahuweh

Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
Swalchy

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 10264
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 5:16pm

Re: help with patching scenario 3

Postby bleu7384 » Fri Aug 25 2017 7:28am

Hi Swalchy

Thank you for the quick response

I will try this when i get home from work.

The only thing is when i patched scenario 2, i done the same process as i done for scenario 3

I run the Patcher, it detected the original disk in my harddrive, and i went through the process of patching , it then created the cue +bin file,which i then mounted via Deamon tools , was this the wrong way round of doing it?, scenario 2 seemed to run fine apart from carrying through Medion's Japanese name!

Anyway i will try to run as an administrator when i get home.

I will let you know, Cheers
bleu7384

Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 25 2013 1:45pm

Re: help with patching scenario 3

Postby legalize freedom » Fri Aug 25 2017 8:55pm

Be sure you unmount everything in that directory before patching. You'll need to move your "base game" iso somewhere else if you are mounting to patch.

Delete the SF3Track2.bin file. If that file is being locked by a virtual drive, the patch won't work.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: help with patching scenario 3

Postby bleu7384 » Sat Aug 26 2017 9:25am

Hello

Success!!

I tried to patch it again as an administrator and it failed again, so I deleted the original patch I downloaded and re-extracted it again, then went to patch scenario 3( I ran as an administrator straight away) and Boom, Done.

Cannot wait to play through these 2 scenarios in English. Just wanna give a thumbs up to everyone that worked on the project.

Cheers for the advice Swalchy and Legalize Freedom

Onward!

(just one more thing I've thought off, if you need me to I will start another topic, where I have transferred over the data from Japanese scenario 1 to 2, its transferred Medion's name as his Japanese name, is this something that can be fixed?)
bleu7384

Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 25 2013 1:45pm

Re: help with patching scenario 3

Postby legalize freedom » Sat Aug 26 2017 1:31pm

Glad to hear you got it working.

Yes, you can use the save editor to change names.

In truth, you should have patch scenario 1 as well. You missed a lot, particularly the true ending. You could patch scenario 1 and then load a save from before the end of the last battle and get most of it from the ending cutscenes.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: help with patching scenario 3

Postby bleu7384 » Sun Aug 27 2017 8:59am

I was under the impression you could not patch the Japanese version of Scenario 1
bleu7384

Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 25 2013 1:45pm

Re: help with patching scenario 3

Postby legalize freedom » Sun Aug 27 2017 2:03pm

bleu7384 wrote:I was under the impression you could not patch the Japanese version of Scenario 1


That is correct. You need to patch the English version of Sc1.

You can just watch the end of one of the LPs in this case.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IpHIrfFecTY&index=85&list=PLUPrrptEK4hO0r9UTEzf5udp5FXbg-GVz
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: help with patching scenario 3

Postby bleu7384 » Sun Aug 27 2017 11:14pm

Oh Ok

Thank you for the link
bleu7384

Member
Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jul 25 2013 1:45pm


Return to SFIII Translation Project

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest