Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

SF1 Editor

Updated 7/4/18 (v3.4.5)

Discussion about the original classic Genesis/Mega Drive game. Posts about the GBA remake belong in the forum below.

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Flygon » Thu Nov 19 2009 10:10am

I don't see movement rates of 4.5 actually being possible unless the game is modified in ASM.

Why? The movement rate is stored in one byte and well... one byte does not usually make allowances for 4.x.

I can think of a circumvention however: Basically, double all the move rates in the game and divide it by half...

This is assuming the Mega Drive has a division instruction or whatever it is, can a ASM lord help me here? :shifty:
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
Flygon

User avatar
Powered by Jets
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Jan 18 2009 4:04am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Thu Nov 19 2009 4:12pm

It has plenty of division support. Although I don't think you'd really need any division to do that. Especially if you're just doubling and halving which is just bit shifts.

Or you could just double the movement rates and have the costs stored already doubled, and just subtract from the doubled rates, no need to divide back again really.

Anyways, yes, that probably wouldn't be that hard other than I don't remember the movement costs being stored in any reasonable manner. Perhaps they are and I've forgotten/haven't found them. I'd need to look into that first.


As far as the exp calculation that probably would be fairly easy, I'll add it to the list of things to do, but I don't know that it will be a high priority.

Edit:

Ok, on the stat caps it's as simple as changing a single byte. But... this allows you to go over 99 MP and end up with infinite MP. Any suggestions on ways of handling it people would like?

For anyone who's interested x24805 is the stat cap. Just change the 99 there to whatever.

The two most obvious things to do are to keep MP capped at 99 or to disable the infinite MP altogether. Perhaps have a couple of optional ways of doing it in the editor...

Also, it will need some testing, but I'm betting that stats over 127 will end up being treated as negative. If that's the case, I don't think I'll be doing anything to change that, so 127 will probably be the max.

Edit:

Yes, stats are negative past 127, so that's probably going to be the absolute max. (Except for HP/MP)
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby tggrng123 » Fri Nov 20 2009 12:52am

One suggestion/ wish would be if we were able to edit spell, weapon, and character animations, but anyways, that's awesome I've been so annoyed at having the HP say ??. Great work Rubix, I love it! :)
I produce music. I can produce multiple genres, from hip-hop/ rap, r&b, rock, metal, jazz, trance, to orchestral and classic and many others. If you need any tracks just send me an email at puremadness_productions@live.com.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SF1 Editor Thread
Renatob's Shining Force II NDS Tribute Remake Thread
I produce music. I can produce multiple genres, from hip-hop/ rap, r&b, rock, metal, jazz, trance, to orchestral and classic and many others. If you need any tracks just send me an email at puremadness_productions@live.com.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SF1 Editor Thread
Renatob's Shining Force II NDS Tribute Remake Thread
tggrng123

User avatar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Jun 20 2009 4:12am
Location: Roseburg, OR

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Fri Nov 20 2009 8:06pm

Ok, text editor has been added, but read only for the moment. I'll see if I'm up to finishing the rest of it tonight.

Major News!

I got the recompression working for the text, so I'm going to get the text editor wrapped up in the next day or two and finally have editable text.
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Aynek » Sat Nov 21 2009 7:31am

Is there any way to make monsters always give 49 exp when killed? I tried making the effective level of goblins 255 and they only give 9 when killed, is it possible to make them always give 49 or is that hardcoded and unable to be edited?
Aynek

Member
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Dec 30 2007 5:21am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Sat Nov 21 2009 7:42am

I'm guessing it's treating anything past 127 as negative. If you set the effective level to 99 it should do what you want, but note that the experience given for dealing damage will go up as well.
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Aynek » Sat Nov 21 2009 7:53am

Perfect, set to 127 and it works fine. Hopefully anyways... Hoping by time im ~40 it still gives maxed out exp, but if not i can live with that i sopose.

Also, is there anyway to edit a rom with the state still being usable? IE: I save state at first battle and kill goblin finding out i dont get max exp, is it possible to edit rom, reload, and open that state and still be able to play it with the new level accepted? I remember doing it with the caravan, but it doesnt seem to work with this editor.

Edit: May have found a way around it, it seems the rom keeps track of saved games through edits, so ill just save via the rom and load, seems to sort-of work around my problem.

Edit 2: Also noticed that stats seem to be awfully low, is that a projected level stat, and then after that, level ups are random, or is it per every X number of level ups, thats the average gain?
Aynek

Member
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Dec 30 2007 5:21am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Siel » Sat Nov 21 2009 10:47am

Aynek @ Sat Nov 21, 2009 2:53 am) wrote:Perfect, set to 127 and it works fine. Hopefully anyways... Hoping by time im ~40 it still gives maxed out exp, but if not i can live with that i sopose.

Also, is there anyway to edit a rom with the state still being usable? IE: I save state at first battle and kill goblin finding out i dont get max exp, is it possible to edit rom, reload, and open that state and still be able to play it with the new level accepted? I remember doing it with the caravan, but it doesnt seem to work with this editor.

Edit: May have found a way around it, it seems the rom keeps track of saved games through edits, so ill just save via the rom and load, seems to sort-of work around my problem.

Edit 2: Also noticed that stats seem to be awfully low, is that a projected level stat, and then after that, level ups are random, or is it per every X number of level ups, thats the average gain?


Your characters will get highest possible amount of EXP as long as the enemy is at least 3 levels above your character. If your characters can kill anything in one hit, then just being one level less than the enemy is enough. As for the enemies' levels, it seems you'll need to restart the battle for the changes to take effect, so save a state right before entering a battle.

(By highest EXP possible, I don't mean it'll always be at 48. EXP just seems to not go higher once the enemy is 3 levels above your character.)

The stat growths you see in the editor are the projected stats gained when level 20 is reached. Thus, to get an approximate stat total at level 20 unpromoted, just add the character's unpromoted growth to their base stat. For a promoted character, take that previous value, multiply it by 0.85, round that number down, and add their promoted growth unto that number. After level 20 promoted, I've seen it been said/written/typed that the gains are seemingly random. Also, a character promoting will always have their stats reduced to 85% of what they're supposed to be at the level they promoted at, even if you gave them enough power potions to reach 99 ATT.

Example:
By default, Max's base ATT is 6. His unpromoted ATT growth is 17 and his promoted ATT growth is 23. At level 20 unpromoted, he should have about 23 ATT without a weapon equipped. I think there's a variance of up to 25%, capped at 4? If he promotes at level 20, his ATT will go down to 19 (23*0.85). Once he is raised back to level 20, he'll have about 42 ATT, with some variance again.
Lv 01 U: 06
Lv 20 U: 23 (6+19)
Lv 01 P: 19 (23*0.85)
Lv 20 P: 42 (19+23)

Regarding growth types (early/late/early-late/linear) though, I do not know how those work yet. Linear is probably very linear, though.
Siel

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Oct 18 2009 2:20pm

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Aynek » Sat Nov 21 2009 11:04am

Thank you, very helpful. Figured it was that way, as thats roughly how SF2 is as well, regarging the random level ups passed 20, or 30 as it is in SF2. Didnt know it was 85% of their lvl 20 un-promo stats that effected their promoted stats tho.
Aynek

Member
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Dec 30 2007 5:21am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Mon Nov 23 2009 6:22pm

Ok, so I got distracted by Assassin's Creed II and the new Mario game this weekend and didn't quite get the text editor finished, but, um:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGLDiLt8PK8

Edit: Fixed the ROM expansion so sizes past 2 MB don't screw up SRAM anymore and added the search and editing capabilities to the text editor, although no saving yet.

The only barrier left for saving the text really is just where to put it. I think the text editing is going to require an expanded ROM and I'll just reserve a chunk for the text data maybe 4 or 8 times the original size.

I guess I'll probably have the option to specify where to put it like some of the other data, but it's big enough that it's probably easier just to leave it be.

Unless anyone has any other suggestions...
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Flygon » Wed Nov 25 2009 5:30am

I still think just storing it as uncompressed makes the most sense, at least, until people start hitting the 4mb limit.

I don't think implementing bank switching will be very fun for any of us.
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
Flygon

User avatar
Powered by Jets
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Jan 18 2009 4:04am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Wed Nov 25 2009 7:36am

Why uncompressed? I don't see any reason not to store the text compressed, especially now that I've finished the compression routine...
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Flygon » Wed Nov 25 2009 1:55pm

I'd have just thought it'd be easier to handle personally, but, that's just one mans opinion. :lol:
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
Flygon

User avatar
Powered by Jets
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Jan 18 2009 4:04am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Wed Nov 25 2009 3:52pm

On which end? Are you saying you'd like to be able to edit it directly through the rom, or just that it would be easier for me to do?

If it's the latter than it's the opposite, because I'm already done with doing it compressed except for relocating the data, and I'd have to rewrite the routine and still relocate the data to do it the other way.
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Flygon » Wed Nov 25 2009 10:40pm

I would have thought it'd been easier to edit with the utility, but, whatever, as long as it works, I'm happy. :)

That, and when I made that post I was so dead tired it isn't funny. :(
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
Flygon

User avatar
Powered by Jets
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Jan 18 2009 4:04am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Thu Nov 26 2009 2:05am

Well, unfortunately I've been really busy with work because we're launching a new branch of services that I'm going to be involved with a lot.

And thus it isn't quite working yet.

I do have a version that you can play with if you feel like it.

Text Test

It is capable of compressing text, but some of the strings end up corrupted, so use on a copy of a rom.

I think it's something pretty simple, but I just haven't had the time to look into it, and with Thanksgiving, I'm not sure how much time I'll have in the next few days, but I'll try to get it fixed.
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Doc105 » Sun Nov 29 2009 7:11am

well, a week or so ago I contacted rubix about a point in battle (9 I do believe or if you prefer chapter 3 battle 1) I gave the master mage Bolt 2 and it would miss my characters (im going to go into serious detail as to what i did), unfortunately i had to reformat my hardrive due to other problems and i havnt gotten back to the editor yet,
LONG EXPLINATION OF WHAT I DID BELOW
if i remember correctly 2 of the dark mage spots had been unused so i switched one of them out with the master mage in that battle increased the hp and mp, reset all other points to match the master mage that had been there previously(within the class editor section). After that whenever it would use a attack with bolt my game would crash so I redid stats to match Mishela, in which case bolt worked about half the time and regular attacks no longer worked. I finally started messing around with a few other things and i got regular attacks to work with no problems but bolt seemed to only work at certain (x,y) coordinates on the map, as a general rule though 2 or more spaces right of the staircase the master mage walks down would let him cast bolt but no target would be present after casting. (and that wouldnt really concern me but damage isnt calculated either)

Any Ideas? (also it may be something in the AI that needed to be edited that I didnt edit)

Also ill see if i can recreate the issue (which shouldnt be hard)
-edit- im the person that sent you PM on yt because my account on here had not gone through yet
Doc105

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 19 2009 3:44am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Mon Nov 30 2009 7:40pm

New version of the editor is up.

Text editing is now enabled.

Let me know if you have any issues.

Also, for the more advanced users, it is relocating the text data to x183540, so if you've got any custom modifications in that area it will have a conflict.

Let me know if that's the case, I'll probably add the option to choose where to move it to.
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Flygon » Tue Dec 01 2009 8:24am

This editor is nearly perfection. :excited:

Great timing to, the summer holidays have just started. What sort of hyjinks I'll get up to, nobody knows. :shifty:

Granted, user friendliness is very iffy, but these things need polishing anyway. Rome wasn't built in a day. :thumbsup:

Edit: MAJOR ISSUE! I am unable to use ' as a letter for words such as you're. Is it possible to be added in? I know phrases inside the game already use it by default, unless it is something not figured out yet. :blush:

EVEN MORE IMPORTANT EDIT: I am taking a wild guess that the editor is not 100% complete yet. Notably? It appears huffman compression cannot handle the word sexy.

Video example
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
Flygon

User avatar
Powered by Jets
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Jan 18 2009 4:04am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby rubixcuber » Tue Dec 01 2009 3:59pm

The fix for ' should be easy enough. I think I just forgot to allow it as a character to type.

Unfortunately, the huffman tables don't have symbols for every possible letter combination. The pair xy was never used in the game, so it's not in the table.

I'm not sure the best course of action for handling that. Maybe I'll rewrite the tables and add in the other letters. Only 223 different tables...

Edit: Hmm, I think there is at least one unused table. I could probably just create a dummy character that goes to that table and doesn't actually output anything and then just put all of the symbols in that table. Then whenever it hits an unrecognized pair, insert that character. I'll look into it later...
rubixcuber

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1113
Joined: Tue Nov 18 2008 4:36am

PreviousNext

Return to Shining Force

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest