Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force CD
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Also incorporating Shining Force Gaiden 1 & Shining Force Gaiden 2 (aka Sword of Hajya).

Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby sticker » Tue Oct 02 2012 4:46am

Read through a lot of posts all lead to perfect sync being checked. But sadly there is no such option for iPad md.emu. is there any other way to work around it?
sticker

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 13 2012 3:19pm

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby amitrius17 » Wed Nov 27 2013 3:12am

Lol I was Googling this very issue and found this thread. Well sticker, I have some bad news. I found a thread about this on md.emu's site. The official word is: at this moment they're not accepting bugs for Sega CD as it is in beta. In other words, there's no Perfect Sync feature and they're not going to add it anytime soon. This applies to both the iOS and Android versions of mc.emu.

Another popular emulator on iOS and Android that supports Sega CD, RetroArch, is in the same boat. There's no Perfect Sync option and there probably won't be one.

It's a shame. Without an option for Perfect Sync, that makes maybe 30% of Sega CD's game library unplayable.
amitrius17

Member
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Mar 15 2005 9:04pm
Location: FL

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby zexxar » Wed Nov 27 2013 10:03am

amitrius17 wrote:Another popular emulator on iOS and Android that supports Sega CD, RetroArch, is in the same boat. There's no Perfect Sync option and there probably won't be one.


I was able to get through the whole game (half a year ago) without any issues with RetroArch, I expected problems in that specific scene but there none for me.
Trent @ Sun Apr 10 2011 1:00pm wrote:You're the ultimate team player zexxar, always coming to the rescue!


samsengir wrote:Zexxar is a fabulous human being with more sex appeal in his little finger than all of F&G put together. Possibly all of SFC combined.
Trent @ Sun Apr 10 2011 1:00pm wrote:You're the ultimate team player zexxar, always coming to the rescue!


samsengir wrote:Zexxar is a fabulous human being with more sex appeal in his little finger than all of F&G put together. Possibly all of SFC combined.
zexxar

User avatar
Team Game Saviour
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 7671
Joined: Mon Apr 14 2008 6:43pm
Location: Stuttgart in Germany

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Iratezombiemann » Wed Nov 27 2013 1:04pm

What emulator are you using? I recommend Kega Fusion, you will have a Perfect Sync option then
We will find a way, or we will make one. ~ Hannibal Barca
We will find a way, or we will make one. ~ Hannibal Barca
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat May 04 2013 5:42am
Location: Pennsylvania, US

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby amitrius17 » Wed Nov 27 2013 6:36pm

zexxar, oh! Good to know! That explains a lot. I was thrown off by the question (I asked this on behalf of someone else). The evidence suggests this is not a Perfect Sync issue but in fact an issue of incompatibility specific to md.emu.

Iratezombiemann, we're talking about emulators on iOS and Android. I wish Kega Fusion was on Android!
amitrius17

Member
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Mar 15 2005 9:04pm
Location: FL

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Sinful Force » Mon Dec 23 2013 7:37pm

What about trying different resolutions if that emulator doesn't have a perfect sync option? (Is does have that, right?) Isn't there a slight chance that it might work? Well, if you can match the Genesis resolution on that phone, then it should 100% work, no? But maybe if you nail one that doesn't throw the sync too far off, it may be enough too? Is what I'm getting at.
Sinful Force

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Oct 21 2009 2:24am
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby SaCred » Tue Jan 14 2014 1:46am

I had this problem while playing on Gens, book 2 froze when Gordon was about to leave the screen every time. I played it on Fusion and it was fine.
Minister - Don't worry about him. If he dies, it doesn't matter. He's old anyway.
Minister - Don't worry about him. If he dies, it doesn't matter. He's old anyway.
SaCred

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 5534
Joined: Sat Nov 30 2013 7:00pm
Location: London, England

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby metateen » Tue Jan 14 2014 1:52am

Kega fusion...I still haven't worked it out so I could play this game...~
~Photobucket~Composer~GMC character designer~DevintART~
http://fc09.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2014/ ... 78d426.png
~Photobucket~Composer~GMC character designer~DevintART~
http://fc09.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2014/ ... 78d426.png
metateen

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Nov 04 2013 3:29am
Location: Runefaust

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Omega Entity » Tue Jan 14 2014 1:59am

Metateen, you need to use Perfect Sync for it to work in Kega Fusion.
(8:23:45 PM) ehow1990: stupid question: why do you have hay there?
(8:23:54 PM) YsFanatic18: She was feedigng horses
(8:23:58 PM) MXC0Spike: Barn sex
(8:24:07 PM) ahath714: She stuffs.
(8:24:39 PM) ehow1990: ask a stupid question and everybody has an answer XD
(8:23:45 PM) ehow1990: stupid question: why do you have hay there?
(8:23:54 PM) YsFanatic18: She was feedigng horses
(8:23:58 PM) MXC0Spike: Barn sex
(8:24:07 PM) ahath714: She stuffs.
(8:24:39 PM) ehow1990: ask a stupid question and everybody has an answer XD
Omega Entity

User avatar
*jiggle*
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 11319
Joined: Fri Mar 06 2009 11:43pm

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby SaCred » Thu Jan 23 2014 12:36am

Omega Entity wrote:Metateen, you need to use Perfect Sync for it to work in Kega Fusion.


Can you put frame skip on Kega Fusion? I only saw the fast forward option and that speeds it up wayyyy to fast to play lol.
Minister - Don't worry about him. If he dies, it doesn't matter. He's old anyway.
Minister - Don't worry about him. If he dies, it doesn't matter. He's old anyway.
SaCred

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 5534
Joined: Sat Nov 30 2013 7:00pm
Location: London, England

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Omega Entity » Thu Jan 23 2014 1:18am

I never use it, so I don't know if it does or not.
(8:23:45 PM) ehow1990: stupid question: why do you have hay there?
(8:23:54 PM) YsFanatic18: She was feedigng horses
(8:23:58 PM) MXC0Spike: Barn sex
(8:24:07 PM) ahath714: She stuffs.
(8:24:39 PM) ehow1990: ask a stupid question and everybody has an answer XD
(8:23:45 PM) ehow1990: stupid question: why do you have hay there?
(8:23:54 PM) YsFanatic18: She was feedigng horses
(8:23:58 PM) MXC0Spike: Barn sex
(8:24:07 PM) ahath714: She stuffs.
(8:24:39 PM) ehow1990: ask a stupid question and everybody has an answer XD
Omega Entity

User avatar
*jiggle*
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 11319
Joined: Fri Mar 06 2009 11:43pm

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby SaCred » Thu Jan 23 2014 1:47am

oh okay, i normally use gens and play on frame skip 1 otherwise the game takes too long :) sometimes even frame skip 2 on some parts.
Minister - Don't worry about him. If he dies, it doesn't matter. He's old anyway.
Minister - Don't worry about him. If he dies, it doesn't matter. He's old anyway.
SaCred

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 5534
Joined: Sat Nov 30 2013 7:00pm
Location: London, England

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Stordarth » Wed Jan 29 2014 1:08am

I could have sworn retroarch has Perfect Sync within it...

*checks*

There's an option called Hard GPU sync which might be a different name for the same thing.

Retroarch also now has Picodrive as well, which definitely does have Perfect Sync available.
Stordarth

User avatar
The L-Block Anomaly
Administrator
 
Posts: 15587
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 3:30pm
Location: The Midlands, Staffordshire, England

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby SpinDash » Sat Feb 08 2014 12:17pm

amitrius17 wrote:Lol I was Googling this very issue and found this thread. Well sticker, I have some bad news. I found a thread about this on md.emu's site. The official word is: at this moment they're not accepting bugs for Sega CD as it is in beta. In other words, there's no Perfect Sync feature and they're not going to add it anytime soon. This applies to both the iOS and Android versions of mc.emu.

Another popular emulator on iOS and Android that supports Sega CD, RetroArch, is in the same boat. There's no Perfect Sync option and there probably won't be one.

It's a shame. Without an option for Perfect Sync, that makes maybe 30% of Sega CD's game library unplayable.


The emulator used in RetroArch (Genesis Plus GX) does not have a "Perfect Sync" option because it does not need one.
It claims to have 100% compatibility with Sega CD games so I guess it is not based on Kega Fusion or Gens like other emulators (MD.emu CD support is copied from Picodrive and Picodrive CD emulation itself is based on Gens for example) and the "perfect sync" is done by default by the emulator.

I finished Shining Force Cd (all books since it supports backup ram cart) with it and did not found any Sega CD games not working so far.
SpinDash

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 08 2014 12:09pm

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Bambix » Mon Oct 31 2016 8:02pm

Hello there.

I'm desperate right now.
SFCD crashed on the opening of book 2 using md.emu (which I found great so far).

Today, md.emu still doesn't support perfect sync, so I tried RetroArch.
But with both Genesis plus GX and Picodrive, also trying to load file and detect engine, RetroArch crashes :(

At this point, I'm lost....
Bambix

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29 2016 7:39pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby RedShine » Tue Nov 01 2016 7:39pm

As far as I know, the freezing points are very specific, so you could try playing on a PC to go past the freezing points, save normally and then transfer back your saves to whatever mobile device you use.

I happen to have played through SFCD recently in its entirety, so I could supply save states (Kega Fusion though), from which you could potentially load, egress and save to either BRAM (internal memory) or CRAM (cart memory) at your own discretion.

Unless I'm mistaken, at least the internal RAM is agnostic, which means it can be used without problems on different emulators.
RedShine

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Apr 05 2014 6:22am

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Bambix » Wed Nov 02 2016 8:55pm

Hello @RedShine !
Thank you for your answer :)

I've already thought of loading my progress on my PC, then skipping the freezes, saving and then going back on my android device. Unfortunately, md.emu uses a format that I can't use with Kega Fusion (v3.64 (Windows)).
This format is .gp.

I have to admit that I'm pretty much a noob at this, and that I'm a bit lost when you talk about BRAM en CRAM... :confused:
Bambix

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29 2016 7:39pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby RedShine » Wed Nov 02 2016 10:39pm

Bambix wrote:Hello @RedShine !
Thank you for your answer :)

I've already thought of loading my progress on my PC, then skipping the freezes, saving and then going back on my android device. Unfortunately, md.emu uses a format that I can't use with Kega Fusion (v3.64 (Windows)).
This format is .gp.

I have to admit that I'm pretty much a noob at this, and that I'm a bit lost when you talk about BRAM en CRAM... :confused:


I apologize as well, since I've never played emulators on a mobile device (closest I ever did was trying a SNES emu on a NDS), but let's see if things can be made more clear.

When you say .gp, is that the savestate format md.emu uses? if so, then I guess there is really no way to convert directly, although I will still look up possible solutions.
BRAM is just a lazy shortening on my part for Backup RAM :shifty: in short, it is the internal memory of a Sega CD unit. When you start a new SFCD game, regardless of the book you choose, the save girl asks you if you want to use "inner backup" or "cartridge" to save your progress before you begin; BRAM is the internal memory, while CRAM is another shorthand of mine for Cartridge RAM, or the external memory cartridge that could be used with SCD to hold more data.

I don't know if md. emu emulates the external cartridge, but it should at least emulate the machine's internal memory, which you may be able to transfer in and continue from.
RedShine

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Apr 05 2014 6:22am

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Bambix » Wed Nov 02 2016 11:12pm

I must thank you for your time and your patience.
English is not my native tongue and I think that might not help :excited:

Nonetheless, I think I figured things out thantks to your clarifications.

I internally saved the game before the last battle in book 1 and found a .brm file on my tablet that I was able to transfer to my conputer and load with Fusion.

Now I just need to accomplish the last battle on my PC, load book 2, go past the freeze, save on internal memory and put back the .brm file to my tablet. And I will be able to play SFCD again during my long trips ♥

I'll let you know as soon as I have time to do all that.

In the meantime, thank you very much again for your valued help :thumbsup:

edit:
When you say .gp, is that the savestate format md.emu uses? if so, then I guess there is really no way to convert directly, although I will still look up possible solutions.

I indeed mean that .gp is the format used for state save in md.emu
Bambix

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29 2016 7:39pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby RedShine » Wed Nov 02 2016 11:50pm

I'm glad I could help, and don't worry, English is not my native language either, but everything went well, hm?
so you found the .brm, yes? indeed that's the internal memory, I believe everything should work correctly. Hopefully perfect sync will become the standard with SCD emulators, as it is required by several games for proper functioning, from what I've seen.
RedShine

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Apr 05 2014 6:22am

Next

Return to Shining Force CD

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest