Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force III SFIII Translation Project
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

My Saturn doesn't seem to recognize the translation

A place for those working on the Shining Force III Translation Patch.

My Saturn doesn't seem to recognize the translation

Postby 2Tie » Thu Jul 19 2018 7:30am

I have a JP Saturn, and have been trying to get a burned copy of the Scen 1 translation to run - the patched bin/cue runs fine in both SSF and Mednafen, and the JP discs run fine on my system, and I've also burned Dreamcast games that read fine. i've also tried burning it a second time in case it was just a bad disc or something. Could this be a possible problem with the region code? i've noticed the patch enables all regions, i'm not sure if that could be causing problems on hardware. I have not tried burning other games to see if it's the discs that are the problem.

just thought i'd ask here in case anyone knew, since i don't want to burn through too many discs trying to get it working if i can help it

another note, i've been trying this with V17 - it's what i had started playing on, and i wasn't sure if the saves carry over since i saw the version number's in the save data name
2Tie

User avatar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 29 2015 5:44pm

Re: My Saturn doesn't seem to recognize the translation

Postby Chinagonuk » Thu Jul 19 2018 8:45am

The saturn either needs to have a modchip or you need to do the swap trick.

The patch makes the game region free so that’s not an issue and all versions of the patch (as well as game saves) are interchangeable.
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: My Saturn doesn't seem to recognize the translation

Postby legalize freedom » Thu Jul 19 2018 12:27pm

You can also use a pseudo Saturn cart.

You should always use the latest patch. Patch version doesn't affect saves. All patch versions are compatible with all saves.

It's the copy protection that is holding you back.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: My Saturn doesn't seem to recognize the translation

Postby 2Tie » Thu Jul 19 2018 10:15pm

flashed my spare action replay with pseudosaturn, and now it boots! my problem now is...

Image

looks like i'll have to work some more on transferring my save over.. thanks guys!
2Tie

User avatar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Mar 29 2015 5:44pm


Return to SFIII Translation Project

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest