Page 1 of 1

Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21 2014 2:05pm
by Milesfromhome83
Hey all,

Is there a way to patch just the ISO without the original disks? I used to own the physical disks but I've since lost them (military vet here who lost a lot of property moving around) and just have the ISOs now. If so can you provide instructions?

I really appreciate what you guys are doing here. I've waited many years to finally play this game in English!

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22 2014 10:55am
by Swalchy
Just mount the Scenario 1/2/3/PD ISO you have as an image using Daemon Tools (Link), and then point the ISOMaker programme at the virtual image drive when choosing which CD you want to patch.

That's all the help we can give with regards to ISO images I'm afraid.

Legal issues and all that :)

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22 2014 1:32pm
by Milesfromhome83
That's perfect, thanks mate. Got it up and running no problem.

Is there a trick to getting better graphics with SSF though? Seems awfully low-res, but I'm guessing the resolution is locked and that's just a drawback of imperfect emulation.

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22 2014 2:58pm
by Swalchy
Unfortunately SSF runs purely using CPU power, and doesn't employ your graphics to do any of the work.

I do believe GiriGiri/Cassini uses the GPU, so battle sequences look better, but SSF kicks their ass when it comes to emulating the Sega Saturn properly.

Guess if you're seeing ridiculously crap graphics, you possibly need a better CPU. Do you know what model of CPU your system has?

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23 2014 2:26am
by Milesfromhome83
It's an i7, running SSF on Highest Compatibility, so I don't think it's CPU. Maybe it's just rose-colored glasses about how the game used to look? Stretched out on a 32" monitor with a low base resolution perhaps?

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23 2014 9:19am
by DomingoRules!
Milesfromhome83 wrote:It's an i7, running SSF on Highest Compatibility, so I don't think it's CPU. Maybe it's just rose-colored glasses about how the game used to look? Stretched out on a 32" monitor with a low base resolution perhaps?

One thing about older games is they can make you appreciate smaller screens. The smaller the screen, the less noticeable the imperfections are, and the smaller and therefore smoother the pixels are.

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23 2014 10:46am
by Swalchy
Milesfromhome83 wrote:It's an i7, running SSF on Highest Compatibility, so I don't think it's CPU.

:lol:
Yeah, definitely isn't your CPU as you say. i7's eat through everything :D

Maybe it's just rose-colored glasses about how the game used to look? Stretched out on a 32" monitor with a low base resolution perhaps?

Yeah, if you're stretching it out over a 32" screen, lol.

Gotta remember, the Max resolution the Sega Saturn could output on is 704 x 480, with most games (including SF3, IIRC) running at a resolution of 352 x 240. The max SSF can change it to is 3x, but then that's just the resolution stretched out, so it'll definitely look worse than it would've done on an old CRT TV :)

It's why we need a remake! :p

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23 2014 12:12pm
by legalize freedom
We need a filter selection in SSF...

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24 2014 8:44am
by Nuburan
Swalchy wrote:It's why we need a remake! :p


Or cataracts. Which we'll probably get before a remake.

Re: Patching just an ISO without the original disks?

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24 2014 4:57pm
by DomingoRules!
Swalchy wrote:It's why we need a remake! :p

In a way, I don't want to see a remake. Odds are only Japan would get it, and then I'd have to cry myself to sleep.