Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22 2013 4:08pm
by Swalchy
Post all your PD translation errors here!

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09 2013 1:49pm
by LordTwann
My burn of the Premium disc won't get past the Sega splash screen. My original disc is fine, boots up no problem.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09 2013 8:53pm
by legalize freedom
Does it play on SSF after running the patch?

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Tue Mar 25 2014 8:07pm
by Carandor
I was listening through the music in the sound test and noticed that tracks 55- The terrible walcuray and track 56- on to the new world need to have their names switched round. Track 55 is played when you pass through the great wall and track 56 is played when the walcuray appears.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23 2015 1:52pm
by Chinagonuk
I noticed the names for the 3 heads of Dark Dragon are Thief, Thief and Villager.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23 2015 7:11pm
by legalize freedom
That is interesting. I'll check it out.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24 2016 6:33am
by Bulzome
When applying the latest patch, Julian's avatar changes. I don't remember encountering this with older patches, though I could be wrong. Either way, his avatar does change from what it is on the original Japanese disc. Any idea on how to remedy this?

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24 2016 10:06pm
by knight0fdragon
define changed? Is it going to the Scenario 3 version?

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25 2016 1:26am
by Bulzome
My Japanese copy of the Premium Disk uses this Image avatar for Julian, while the newer patch seems to use this Image avatar for Julian. I'd like for the Premium Disc to continue using this Image avatar. (At least my personal copy.)

EDIT: I can get screenshots if that helps.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25 2016 1:19pm
by legalize freedom
I'll test to see if I can re-produce this, but this isn't a change the patch makes (at least not intentionally). Seems like I might have heard some chatter a while back about different pics being used in different versions of the game, but I don't recall if it was regarding the PD.

Are you patching the same disc that you're using to test without the patch?

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25 2016 3:14pm
by knight0fdragon
Yes, I just checked the files, we do not touch those gfx.
On the premium disc we only touch translatable images


Bulzome, the first picture I believe is the SF3-3 version, while the second is the Premium Disc. How are you making this patch? What version of the translation are you using? Is this an official PD or a copy? The more info the better, since we may be dealing with 2 versions here.

Legalize Freedom, what did you guys use to make the loading screen images and the changes to the title screen?

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25 2016 7:15pm
by legalize freedom
knight0fdragon wrote:Legalize Freedom, what did you guys use to make the loading screen images and the changes to the title screen?


Just the image converter tool you created back in the day and photoshop.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26 2016 12:15am
by knight0fdragon
wow, completely forgot about that LOL

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26 2016 4:09am
by Bulzome
I sold my physical copy of the Premium disc a few years ago, but I made a backup before I sent it out. I've been using my backup image (bin/cue) to create the patch. The older patch I'm referring to is one that I burnt to CD several years ago. The newer patch is version 17 and is created with the backup image. From what you guys are saying, the problem lies with the way I'm patching. You're probably right. I usually test a patch disc on SSF_011_Alpha_R5 and Yabause0.9.14 before burning it to CD. I'm actually kind of wondering if I would get a different result on my Saturn.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26 2016 5:30pm
by knight0fdragon
The results will not change from device to device, When SF3-3 was originally made, it was rushed. The rushed production of it led to the terrible GFX that you like. When the Premium Disc came around, they had time to fix these GFX and make it more along the art style of the other games. Having both of them is not an option, so if your original PD had the old GFX, then you may have a different version of the game then everybody else. Unfortunately, since you no longer have the disc, it does me no good to verify you indeed have a different version, since the cd image may be compromised.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26 2016 7:21pm
by legalize freedom
I'm wondering where exactly the avatar is changed. Is it only in the battles? If so, it could depend on how the save was created.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26 2016 7:33pm
by knight0fdragon
Can't be the save, not enough space to store avatar images inside the save file. Also, waste of memory

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27 2016 4:29pm
by legalize freedom
What I mean is, and I'm not sure it's possible for the PD, but you could theoretically have a save where Julian wasn't fully promoted and the game used the previous avatar.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27 2016 6:03pm
by knight0fdragon
can't promote in PD from what I know, but could be wrong, been a while.

So the avatar would be the promotion 1 avatar, which is not the image he is showing

I think the issue is Bulzome is either not remembering things correctly, because he is playing PD with a scenario 3 save and thinks it was PD

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27 2016 6:37pm
by Swalchy
This image:
Image
is for Scenario 3 only.

They updated the image to:
Image
for the Premium Disc.

The same happened for a few characters, the most memorable one being Dantares -
Image - Scenario 3
Image - Premium Disc

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27 2016 7:25pm
by legalize freedom
That probably explains it, but will it give you different ones if you use a Sc3 save vs creating one in the PD?

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27 2016 11:07pm
by knight0fdragon
Not likely, like I said, it would be a waste to save all of the avatars in the Saturn backup memory, and pointless.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28 2016 12:45am
by legalize freedom
Right, but it would contain the class (promotion level) and that may control which avatar is used.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28 2016 3:38am
by knight0fdragon
I am not sure if we are on the same page anymore

the promotion level is saved in the save file yes

but the actual image is not.

both images cannot be stored onto the disc, it is either one or the other

the avatar he is looking for is not known to be on the Premium disc, and in the almost 20 years (Ugh) that this game has been out, it would be impressive to see that he had some early draft of the PD that nobody knows about with these GFX

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28 2016 10:46am
by legalize freedom
The PD borrows most everything from Sc3 so I would assume both (or all 3) images are available on the PD disc. I certainly can't say for sure, but that's what I'm suggesting. Just drawing at straws to try to explain what's going on.

I come to this conclusion. If the PD is being played (whether it has been patched or not) and the Sc3 avatar appears, the image is obviously available from the PD disc. It could be specific to a certain PD disc version, but it isn't the work of the patch. Multiple avatar images are available on every scenario disc so why not the PD?

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28 2016 11:04am
by Bulzome
Sorry for the late reply. I've been sick. Either way, I think I may have found the cause. I called up a friend of mine with the original disc. I sent him all the versions of the patch I have - and sure enough they all use the premium disc avatars. Therefore, that means the problem would have to lie with my backup image. I must have done something wrong when creating it.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28 2016 3:34pm
by knight0fdragon
The PD does not borrow everything, the PD actually fixes things (I am curious if it fixed the Garosh bug)

The way the avatars have been are laid out is like this:

Unpromoted
Promotion 1
Promotion 2 / Alternate Promotion2

Now Promotion 2 plays by Time Cop rules, both images can't occupy the same space at the same time or else chaos would happen.

When the game needs to display an avatar it grabs it from a special file (You should be able to see the avatar file like you would the loading screen IIRC)
This file will only contain the promoted 2 version, or the alternate promoted 2. Not both.

Also, since the only way you can see a Promoted 2 character is by loading in a scenario 3 save, it would be impossible for people to see the newly designed image based on your theory, everybody would see the old one.


legalize freedom wrote:The PD borrows most everything from Sc3 so I would assume both (or all 3) images are available on the PD disc. I certainly can't say for sure, but that's what I'm suggesting. Just drawing at straws to try to explain what's going on.

I come to this conclusion. If the PD is being played (whether it has been patched or not) and the Sc3 avatar appears, the image is obviously available from the PD disc. It could be specific to a certain PD disc version, but it isn't the work of the patch. Multiple avatar images are available on every scenario disc so why not the PD?

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28 2016 8:08pm
by legalize freedom
knight0fdragon wrote:The PD does not borrow everything, the PD actually fixes things (I am curious if it fixed the Garosh bug)

The way the avatars have been are laid out is like this:

Unpromoted
Promotion 1
Promotion 2 / Alternate Promotion2

Now Promotion 2 plays by Time Cop rules, both images can't occupy the same space at the same time or else chaos would happen.

When the game needs to display an avatar it grabs it from a special file (You should be able to see the avatar file like you would the loading screen IIRC)
This file will only contain the promoted 2 version, or the alternate promoted 2. Not both.

Also, since the only way you can see a Promoted 2 character is by loading in a scenario 3 save, it would be impossible for people to see the newly designed image based on your theory, everybody would see the old one.


Gotcha. So no matter what, the PD will only ever have one promo 2 image available.

It doesn't sound like Bulzome's issue is reproducible either, so I guess we can assume whatever happened was a glitch or human error.

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Fri Feb 03 2017 2:16pm
by Synthesis
I've just played v18 and noticed the video section has no text labels for either Ending 1 or 2.

EDIT: Played more of the Premium Disc and noticed the three headed dragon in battle 6 are called "thief" and "villager".

Re: Premium Disc Error Report Topic

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06 2017 1:14pm
by legalize freedom
Thank you for the report.

I know the ending videos aren't available until and unless there is a completed save present. It would be odd if the vid would still play though. Is that the case?

Will get the enemy names fixed up!