Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force III SFIII Translation Project
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Please read first post first!

A place for those working on the Shining Force III Translation Patch.

Re: problems with scenario 3?

Postby Swalchy » Sun Dec 19 2010 4:06am

Nirek @ Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:55 am) wrote: Speaking of saving as if on an actual Saturn, I am playing through the games on an actual Saturn (an unmodded US Saturn), using the swap trick to start the games. I just finished Scenario 1 and am hoping for Scenario 2 for Christmas. I am wondering, though, if i can get past that Scenario 3 glitch on my Saturn when i get there, in the current state. I can't really use the Japanese disk since my system won't very well play one. I was thinking that i could perhaps rip my Japanese disk, remove the region coding, burn a new disk, and play with that.

anyone know if that will work, or if there is another way to get past the glitch on an (unmodded) US Saturn?

That'll certainly work.

If you rip your Japanese Scenario 3, change the region code of the ISO/BIN to your Sega Saturn's region, burn the iso, you can then use the swap trick to play the Japanese Scenario 3 on your Sega Saturn using the swap trick.

It's what I did with all my Pal games to play on my White Japanese Sega Saturn, although I have a modchip rather than using the swap trick :)
The Way To Yahuweh

Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
The Way To Yahuweh

Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
Swalchy

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 10261
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 5:16pm

Re: problems with scenario 3?

Postby Nirek » Sun Dec 19 2010 4:35am

Swalchy @ Sat Dec 18, 2010 7:06 pm) wrote:That'll certainly work.

If you rip your Japanese Scenario 3, change the region code of the ISO/BIN to your Sega Saturn's region, burn the iso, you can then use the swap trick to play the Japanese Scenario 3 on your Sega Saturn using the swap trick.

It's what I did with all my Pal games to play on my White Japanese Sega Saturn, although I have a modchip rather than using the swap trick :)

Now the real question is, do you know of a tool i can use to rip my Japanese disk? ;)

i tried using alcohol 52% and it failed :(
Nirek

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 03 2010 3:39am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: problems with scenario 3?

Postby BoneIdol » Sun Dec 19 2010 2:31pm

Nirek @ Sun Dec 19, 2010 4:35 am) wrote: Now the real question is, do you know of a tool i can use to rip my Japanese disk? ;)

i tried using alcohol 52% and it failed :(

My advice is to use UltraISO. It isn't free but the trial version doesn't have a timelimit and suffices for ripping games.

You just need to insert your Japanese Disc, open UltraISO and go to Tools -> Make CD/DVD Image. Then just check the .bin/.cue option, select the drive with your SF3 disc in it and click the Make button. Job done. :)
BoneIdol

Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Jun 04 2006 4:47pm
Location: Yorkshire, England

Remotest Issue

Postby extremus » Mon Dec 20 2010 6:13am

Hello,

It's been awhile since I posted; I only updated with the Version 11 patch a short while back and just got around the trying to finish Scenario 3. The reason I'd been waiting to do so is that I KNOW I'm missing out on a ton of vital information story-wise, because (SPOILER ALERT) the village is split into two factions (I'll leave it at that in case anyone read this far). I just didn't want to finish out the game without knowing why this is the case.

Anyway, when I booted up Scenario 3 tonight and played the disc, everyone was speaking in fully translated English inside the sanctuary. However, once I ventured out the doors to the other rooms all the villagers' text was fully in Japanese.

I just wanted to ask if this is actually a problem from something done on my end, or if the Remotest villager dialogue code for Version 11 was simply translated into Japanese for later translation into English by you guys; I understand that Version 11 is still a work in progress. I'd be very grateful for any clarification.

And thanks once again for all of your hard work in translating this outstanding game!
extremus

Member
Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jul 27 2009 12:49am

Re: Remotest Issue

Postby mesmer » Mon Dec 20 2010 7:07am

The final chapter on scenario 3 isn't completely translated yet.
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people.
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people.
mesmer

Member
Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Sep 07 2008 1:04am
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Remotest Issue

Postby extremus » Mon Dec 20 2010 10:11am

Thanks very much for the insight, Mesmer! Looking forward to seeing the last pieces come together (as I know you guys are as well)!
extremus

Member
Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Jul 27 2009 12:49am

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby Rick » Fri Jan 14 2011 7:03pm

From the start of the game, Gracia's Staff of Besem has the following description:

Staff- Light & Dark resist +30, Shining L2

Gracia only has Shining L1 at this point

Image
Rick's 10K Run Blog

SF Community Project. Come have a looksie

Chaos Wizard wrote:I prefer beauty more then Virginal. But no skanks. :angry:

masquirinsears wrote:wow that rick, he's so hot right now, rick...

-----
Shining Force: Ancient Pathways RPG
Cole - Lv. 11 WARR
HP: 21/21 |||||||||||||||||||||
-----
Rick's 10K Run Blog

SF Community Project. Come have a looksie

Chaos Wizard wrote:I prefer beauty more then Virginal. But no skanks. :angry:

masquirinsears wrote:wow that rick, he's so hot right now, rick...

-----
Shining Force: Ancient Pathways RPG
Cole - Lv. 11 WARR
HP: 21/21 |||||||||||||||||||||
-----
Rick

User avatar
Lionheart
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 8118
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 9:05pm
Location: England

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby BoneIdol » Fri Jan 14 2011 7:08pm

Weapon descriptions list the maximum level of the spell it grants. Sadly, it isn't possible to list the actual level without changing the game's code.

I gather that the text parser in SF3 will replace certain characters with a value passed to the text box by the game. The game does not pass any values to the textbox for item descriptions. :(
BoneIdol

Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Jun 04 2006 4:47pm
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Sat Jan 15 2011 12:20am

Do all weapons that grant spells level up their spells or just this one?
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1606
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby Rick » Sat Jan 15 2011 12:51am

They level up based on the weapon level of the character usually... in the Europe Sc1, the description usually reads 'acquires Blaze Magic' or such, it doesn't usually state the maximum level in the description iirc...
Rick's 10K Run Blog

SF Community Project. Come have a looksie

Chaos Wizard wrote:I prefer beauty more then Virginal. But no skanks. :angry:

masquirinsears wrote:wow that rick, he's so hot right now, rick...

-----
Shining Force: Ancient Pathways RPG
Cole - Lv. 11 WARR
HP: 21/21 |||||||||||||||||||||
-----
Rick's 10K Run Blog

SF Community Project. Come have a looksie

Chaos Wizard wrote:I prefer beauty more then Virginal. But no skanks. :angry:

masquirinsears wrote:wow that rick, he's so hot right now, rick...

-----
Shining Force: Ancient Pathways RPG
Cole - Lv. 11 WARR
HP: 21/21 |||||||||||||||||||||
-----
Rick

User avatar
Lionheart
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 8118
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 9:05pm
Location: England

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby BoneIdol » Sat Jan 15 2011 6:05am

The weapons text doesn't list anything like how much crit/counter goes up either. I personally like the additions; knowing the spell level is actually very handy because you can work out when your next level up is going to be.

Spell level 1 means spell level is always 1
Spell level 2 means spell level is 2 at weapon level 3 and level 1 the rest of the time
Spell level 3 means that the spell level equal to weapon level (minimum 1)
Spell level 4 means that the spell level is equal to weapon level + 1

Simples. ;)
BoneIdol

Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Jun 04 2006 4:47pm
Location: Yorkshire, England

What remains to be fixed

Postby Reincar » Mon Feb 07 2011 4:45pm

I've found a text mistake in the beginning of chapter 2 of third scenario. Can't post the image so i will just describe it. During Donhort's conversation about his new purpose for life he says "So I decided to cut myself offas well". I think the "offas" thing must be fixed. By the way, I've downloaded latest translation patch at 07.02.11.
Reincar

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 07 2011 4:21pm

Re: What remains to be fixed

Postby Cullsoft » Mon Feb 07 2011 10:11pm

Although I can't say for sure in this case, typos like that may be deliberate due to text and file size limits.
----- Culley's Shop RPG Trading Post & Figurine Emporium -----
- Warrior Pride, Dynamite & other items for sale
- Various figures for trading
- Seeking Grace, Alef and May figurines, also Power Waters, Lucky Cookies and rare goods
Click here for trading rates & more information
----- Culley's Shop RPG Trading Post & Figurine Emporium -----
- Warrior Pride, Dynamite & other items for sale
- Various figures for trading
- Seeking Grace, Alef and May figurines, also Power Waters, Lucky Cookies and rare goods
Click here for trading rates & more information
Cullsoft

User avatar
Shining Furce
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 5250
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 1:56pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Re: What remains to be fixed

Postby legalize freedom » Mon Feb 07 2011 11:56pm

This is an error, but Sc3 has not been reviewed yet, so I'm sure there are hundreds.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1606
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: What remains to be fixed

Postby Thief » Wed Feb 09 2011 2:50am

Ah, so that's why. I don't really mind the typos, as long as the meanings get across, considering that the patch for this part of the game isn't in beta stage yet. However, I'm taking screenshots of such typos, so.
Thief

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 1:53pm

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby Thief » Thu Feb 24 2011 2:30am

Ah, this topic is handy.

Scenario 3 sure has quite some ways to go to match up to the current quality of Scenario 2's translation. :D
Thief

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 1:53pm

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby Rick » Thu Feb 24 2011 11:05am

Multiple Errors with the shopkeepers in Destonia:

Image
Greeting Julian

Image
Looking at an item to buy

Image
After buying an item

Image
After giving a bought item to a character

Image
Checking the deals section

Image
Prices Overlapping
Rick's 10K Run Blog

SF Community Project. Come have a looksie

Chaos Wizard wrote:I prefer beauty more then Virginal. But no skanks. :angry:

masquirinsears wrote:wow that rick, he's so hot right now, rick...

-----
Shining Force: Ancient Pathways RPG
Cole - Lv. 11 WARR
HP: 21/21 |||||||||||||||||||||
-----
Rick's 10K Run Blog

SF Community Project. Come have a looksie

Chaos Wizard wrote:I prefer beauty more then Virginal. But no skanks. :angry:

masquirinsears wrote:wow that rick, he's so hot right now, rick...

-----
Shining Force: Ancient Pathways RPG
Cole - Lv. 11 WARR
HP: 21/21 |||||||||||||||||||||
-----
Rick

User avatar
Lionheart
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 8118
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 9:05pm
Location: England

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby Thief » Thu Feb 24 2011 11:18am

The mixed up greeting/response lines in the shop was annoying at first, then I thought it was perfect for an Imperial shop to belittle a foreign mercenary's affordability, then now it simply feels like a funny feature unique to Scenario 3. :thumbsup:

If only the pricing/gold counter part isn't messed up though, since it's harder to keep track of expenses. I kept running out of gold without realising it.
Thief

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 1:53pm

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby Rick » Thu Feb 24 2011 12:23pm

Did the hanging on the end of Chapter 1 occur to you too? you get the summary with no advance?
Rick's 10K Run Blog

SF Community Project. Come have a looksie

Chaos Wizard wrote:I prefer beauty more then Virginal. But no skanks. :angry:

masquirinsears wrote:wow that rick, he's so hot right now, rick...

-----
Shining Force: Ancient Pathways RPG
Cole - Lv. 11 WARR
HP: 21/21 |||||||||||||||||||||
-----
Rick's 10K Run Blog

SF Community Project. Come have a looksie

Chaos Wizard wrote:I prefer beauty more then Virginal. But no skanks. :angry:

masquirinsears wrote:wow that rick, he's so hot right now, rick...

-----
Shining Force: Ancient Pathways RPG
Cole - Lv. 11 WARR
HP: 21/21 |||||||||||||||||||||
-----
Rick

User avatar
Lionheart
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 8118
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 9:05pm
Location: England

Re: Scenario 3 Error Report Topic

Postby Thief » Thu Feb 24 2011 2:07pm

Yes, as expected. Though it gave a chance of re-watching the whole ending of Chapter 1 again in Japanese. The vocab is surprisingly not as complicated as I thought it'd be. Though, still not as satisfying as experiencing them all in English, of course.
Thief

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 1:53pm

PreviousNext

Return to SFIII Translation Project

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest