Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force III SFIII Translation Project
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Please read first post first!

A place for those working on the Shining Force III Translation Patch.

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Simkovitch » Mon Jan 09 2017 9:56pm

I had the graphic corruption bug in the tank battle of SC2 on my Saturn with V17.
It seems like it is fixed now with V18.

So, yesterday I was finally able to finish the game without any problems!
Thank you guy so much!!!
Simkovitch

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 09 2017 9:45pm

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Vintagelord » Wed Aug 09 2017 12:20am

Hello everyone. I am currently playing scenario one. I am having issues with the spells not showing up at all or being extremely glitchy. Also the floor sometimes turns black or transparent. I've messed with the Yabause settings like SH2 and tried changing it to debugger and it temporarily fixed the issue into i got to chapter 3. Now it's back again. Does any one have any suggestions as to what might be going on as well as a solution? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
Vintagelord

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 09 2017 12:17am

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Chinagonuk » Mon May 28 2018 5:26pm

Not sure if this is a patch issue or something my end.

When I enter David’s Room, in the Elvan Village, I get a text box pop up with a white square in it. It stays in the centre of the screen until I exit David’s Room.

I’m using the latest patch (v.19)
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Swalchy » Mon May 28 2018 5:50pm

Chinagonuk wrote:Not sure if this is a patch issue or something my end.

When I enter David’s Room, in the Elvan Village, I get a text box pop up with a white square in it. It stays in the centre of the screen until I exit David’s Room.

I’m using the latest patch (v.19)

Could you host your savestate / game .BIN somewhere? Shall see if it does the same for me.

If you're using an emulator, obviously :)
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
Swalchy

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 10374
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 5:16pm

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Chinagonuk » Wed May 30 2018 7:18pm

Is there a way i can share it over the forum as an attachment or something?
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Swalchy » Wed May 30 2018 10:13pm

Add the save into a .ZIp file, and then post here using Full Editor and choose 'upload attachment' at the bottom :)
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
Swalchy

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 10374
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 5:16pm

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Chinagonuk » Thu May 31 2018 3:46am

Ok done (I think lol).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Swalchy » Thu May 31 2018 10:06pm

Okay, so the error is happening for myself as well using your save. Whether it's something specific to your patched CD that's carried over I'd have to try with another save.

Nevertheless, I have located the place in the script where the text is coming from:

Image
Image

That 'box' comes up and disappears almost immediately. It more than likely has some sort of text.

I'll let LF gander at the place and see what can be done/figured out :)
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
Swalchy

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 10374
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 5:16pm

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Fri Jun 01 2018 1:18am

Is there a number after that 1?

It appears to be a location line, like the one that says "David's room", but that line doesn't exist on page 1, it's 2-82. And there aren't any blank lines in STAIN on page 1.

If this is truly V19, my suspicion turns to save state usage.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1732
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Swalchy » Fri Jun 01 2018 9:32pm

Unfortunately it's so fast I can't see it clearly, and even though I'm pressing the screenshot button like mad, that is the only thing I'm picking up.

I'll try it again with one of the saves from the SF3Trans FTP and see what happens :)
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
Swalchy

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 10374
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 5:16pm

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Sat Jun 02 2018 2:21am

Exactly. Tell me exactly when it happens and I'll look at one I have too. Or can you only get there one time. After the skyway battle...
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1732
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Swalchy » Sat Jun 02 2018 7:24am

You can get there anytime after David joins, IIRC. Just make sure it's before you leave Stump village :)

As for when it happens: pretty much any time you enter into David's room. Coming out and going back in results in the same thing occurring.
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
The Way To Yahuweh
Dead Sea Scroll Images
Latest Update Post


Salibu: 20/08/10 wrote:You have all been Swalched.


Damn I've been here a long f*cking time...
Swalchy

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 10374
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 5:16pm

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Sat Jun 02 2018 1:46pm

Got it fixed up! It turns out the 1-58 line is a coded pointer to the various location lines, so it was actually reading the 2-82 line. The issue is that I was using David's name line combo in this line and it didn't like it. I spelled David's name out and it worked fine.

The reason I use the name combos anywhere I can is so if people decide to use the editor or gameshark to change the names, they change everywhere. So now if they changed David's name to Bill, when they went into this room it would still say David's Room.

We probably could take this opportunity to review this location name. Something like Leader Quarters. I don't know if he's considered a chief... I believe they all refer to him as their "leader". It's probably all the same.

At any rate, I'm attaching the fixed file. Anyone interested can replace this file in the SF3Patch\files\s2 directory and re-run the patch.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1732
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Chinagonuk » Mon Jun 04 2018 10:08am

Good job, LF. Maybe could just call it Secret Room or similar.

EDIT
(I wanted to make a new post but couldn't because I was the last poster.)

I think I may have found a typo in Sc2 Ch3 in Barrand Prison while talking to Donhort.

"However, it doesn't look like we'll be allow to leave."

should surely be

"However, it doesn't look like we'll be allowed to leave".
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Sun Jun 10 2018 2:56am

Excellent catch! I'll get it fixed up.

Thanks!
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1732
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Chinagonuk » Mon Jul 16 2018 6:43am

This is a strage one. After battle 16 i return to elbesem village and pickup the Robot Eye and Power Wine. I go to the HQ and Medion is holding both items. I use the Power Wine on Julian but the text says “Medion uses the Robot Eye” instead of Power Wine.

If I give the Power Wine to someone else, who is not holding the Robot Eye then the text is correct.

Here is a link to a video that shows the error:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Y91pr ... G-Lf6T-dQt
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Mon Jul 16 2018 12:15pm

Well, you do use the wine on Medion (not Julian) so there is no name mix up.

The item name in this message grabs from a slot that is filled by the game. It's odd, but I'm calling it a glitch. I'm guessing if you did anything but exactly what you did, this would correctly fill the item name.

I can't reproduce this, but I'm not sure exactly what you did. If I were to guess, I'd say the last thing you did was get the Robot Eye and the very next thing you did item-wise was use the wine.

I don't believe there is anything to be done about it in the patch, but thanks for reporting!
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1732
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Chinagonuk » Mon Jul 16 2018 12:36pm

Actually I used the wine on several different characters. The glitch occurred each time Medion was holding both items.

My exact process was; clear battle 16, head to church, make a save, promote some characters, get the Robot Eye, trigger cutscene with village chief, get Power Wine, head to HQ, use Power Wine.

I figured it was more likely a game glitch than a translation error. Over the years i’ve witnessed a few strange things like this.
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Sun Jul 22 2018 12:44pm

This seems similar to another odd one I've found. If a lizardman gets feet-frozen-in-place status effect, It will show the hero's name in the message. I believe this only happens with the lizardman.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1732
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby knight0fdragon » Sun Jul 22 2018 12:53pm

Can you reproduce it on the original version?
knight0fdragon

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 1096
Joined: Fri Nov 05 2004 5:36am
Location: Good ol(Not Really) Pennsylvania USA

Previous

Return to SFIII Translation Project

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest

cron