Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

Shining Force Refix v0.1.4 (11/23/10)

Basic hack to fix bugs and such

Discussion about the original classic Genesis/Mega Drive game. Posts about the GBA remake belong in the forum below.

Re: Shining Force Refix v0.1.4 (11/23/10)

Postby Lobo » Wed Dec 01 2010 2:01pm

Flygon @ Tue Nov 30, 2010 8:21 am) wrote: This is because Mega Drive games are not actually designed to be larger than 4 megabytes. To be able to go larger than 4 megabytes, bank switching functionality would need to be implemented... which is probably not going to happen. It's too difficult to program, especially without a disassembly.

It would only really be useful for streaming PCM background music anyway (Which would probably sound better if it used the Sega CD hardware... which... of course, won't be happening :p).

Well, as I remember, 4 MB would be the limit for original Master System games. Like Phantasy Star.
Some original Mega Drive games had 16 MB and even more, I think.
The original Shining Force itself probably had between 8-12 MB.
Lobo

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 5:31pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil

Re: Shining Force Refix v0.1.4 (11/23/10)

Postby Special T » Thu Dec 02 2010 5:02am

rubixcuber @ Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:48 am) wrote: Alright, I think it should work now. It's not 6.5 MB for whatever reason at least.

I just tested the latest 0.1.4 version of this patch on real hardware and I'm getting some unusual results.

The game boots up for me but when it comes to the menu there is already two saved games in the 1st & 3rd slot but the data is garbled.

The the first save slot reads as follows

Ch. 0
,2C_

The 3rd save slot reads as follows

Ch. 9
%,AA

If I attempt to use them the game freezes. I can start a new game using the 2nd file and that seems to work, although I only tested it up to talking with Lowe. I'd also like to point out that I deleted the first save file and the delete process appeared to work however when I choose to load a game again the same corrupt save file was still in the first slot. These corrupt save files aren't showing up when I test this rom in KEGA Fusion 3.64.

I included the details on how I patched / played the rom in case that helps identify any issues. I applied the patch to the Shining Force (USA).bin rom with a crc of E0594ABE. I then burned the rom to my NEO Myth MD 3in1 flash cartridge which I tested on a US Sega CDX system.
Special T

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 8:15pm
Location: Riverview

Re: Shining Force Refix v0.1.4 (11/23/10)

Postby Flygon » Thu Dec 02 2010 10:57am

Lobo @ Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:01 am) wrote: Well, as I remember, 4 MB would be the limit for original Master System games. Like Phantasy Star.
Some original Mega Drive games had 16 MB and even more, I think.
The original Shining Force itself probably had between 8-12 MB.

You're thinking about megabits. I am talking about megabytes.

Shining Force by default is 12 megabits, but it is 1.5 megabytes.

Similarly, Phantasy Star is 512 kilobytes while being 4 megabits. Also, technically the Master System isn't limited at all in filesize, it just depends on how you access the data. For example, NES games could go up to 2 megabytes/16 megabits with special mappers *stares at Action 52 :drunk: *, and similary, Sega Master System games can theoretically access up to 2 gigabytes of space thanks to the Sega Everdrive flash cart, but obviously, no software has been designed with that in mind yet, for the Master System anyway (The FMV playing demos are an example of bank switching of arbitrary space on the Mega Drive, however).

I know it seems incredibly nit-picky, but these myths regarding game size restrictions upset me greatly. And the byte/bit confusion is just the tip of the iceberg.

Also, one last quick note, I would like to be able to see Shining Force hacks using the Everdrives SD access, but I'm taking a guess that that will never be happening until emulators can actually emulate it and when it becomes useful. :p
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
The hexman of #sf2hack
#sf2hack @ irc.darkmyst.org wrote:Lord_Oddeye: GET TO THE CHOPPER
Destructiox: :D
* Wiz has quit (Exit: Quitte)
Flygon: Oh, now look what you did
Destructiox: ;_;
Flygon: Wiz actually got in the chopper
Flygon

User avatar
Powered by Jets
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Sun Jan 18 2009 4:04am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Shining Force Refix v0.1.4 (11/23/10)

Postby ResidentLeever » Fri Oct 28 2016 4:51pm

This isn't quite related to the hack I think, but I looked up Luke's sheet to see what color OP meant and does anyone know where this full Luke artwork is from, is it seen in-game?

Image

It's the only full art at the spriter's resource page from what I could see.

Something that is related though is what looks like another mistake with colors, for the dark mage sprite.

Image

Zoom in and check the staff; the shading is supposed to be bottom to top with lighting from above, but in the palette variations it's messed up a bit, and in the third one they use an off red color for the darker shade. Naturally I'll change these for my color hack.
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Mar 05 2011 12:15pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Shining Force Refix v0.1.4 (11/23/10)

Postby Lobo » Fri Oct 28 2016 6:00pm

This mistake with Luke's palette is very annoying.
I changed his map sprite to match his original color.

Another annoying one is related to the paladins.
Before promotion, each knight has his own colors, but then, once promoted, everyone just turn to green.
Lobo

User avatar
Shining Hero
Shining Hero
 
Posts: 930
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 5:31pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil

Re: Shining Force Refix v0.1.4 (11/23/10)

Postby ResidentLeever » Tue Nov 01 2016 1:03pm

Something odd I noticed yesterday after promoting Max:
Image
Image

As you can see the old sprite is used when moving sideways. Anyone else experience this? After entering the world map, it's fixed.
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Mar 05 2011 12:15pm
Location: Sweden

Previous

Return to Shining Force

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest