Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

SF1 Editor

Updated 7/4/18 (v3.4.5)

Discussion about the original classic Genesis/Mega Drive game. Posts about the GBA remake belong in the forum below.

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Runesamurai » Sun Apr 15 2018 7:43pm

I'm seriously worried. I mean what if rubixcuber doesn't return?
Runesamurai

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Dec 11 2017 10:49pm

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Sun Apr 15 2018 7:54pm

Then "oh well". We work with what we have. It's not the end of the world.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Runesamurai » Mon Apr 16 2018 5:47am

Tyadran wrote:Then "oh well". We work with what we have. It's not the end of the world.

That's easy for you to say. I really wanted extended characters to be completed so I can make and use my own characters and finally be able to edit map sprites.
Runesamurai

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Dec 11 2017 10:49pm

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Mon Apr 16 2018 6:50am

You can already edit map sprites. You don't need extended characters for that.

As a side note, I've got spell randomization working for Mages now. Considering how worthless Muddle is in SF1 I'm thinking I'll remove that from the spells possible for them to learn since I don't see anyone really wanting to end up with that.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Lock It Lynx » Mon Apr 16 2018 7:25am

Runesamurai wrote:
Tyadran wrote:Then "oh well". We work with what we have. It's not the end of the world.

That's easy for you to say. I really wanted extended characters to be completed so I can make and use my own characters and finally be able to edit map sprites.

Even if he doesn't come back who's to say we can't find a fix ourselves? I have full confidence we could pull through if we have too.
Lock It Lynx

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 27 2014 6:58pm

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Mon Apr 16 2018 7:41am

Biggest problem is I'm not sure how to disassemble/assemble the ROM. If someone could work that out I'd take a look at fixing Extended Characters - I've done some assembly work on Kid Chameleon, but for that a disassembly and assembler were already prepared.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Wiz » Mon Apr 16 2018 1:40pm

Just in case:

This may not be as advanced as SF2DISASM, but a few years ago I initialized the same process for SF1 :
https://github.com/ShiningForceCentral/SF1DISASM

Only a few binary data types have been split :
https://github.com/ShiningForceCentral/SF1DISASM/blob/master/split/sf1splits.txt

But that could be a good alternative way of building ROMs if necessary, and motivated people can even use IDA Pro and project SF1RE to make progress with more binary/ASM splits for more flexibility :
https://github.com/ShiningForceCentral/SF1RE
Wiz

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Mar 18 2007 2:43pm
Location: Blois, France

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Mon Apr 16 2018 1:51pm

Wiz wrote:Just in case:

This may not be as advanced as SF2DISASM, but a few years ago I initialized the same process for SF1 :
https://github.com/ShiningForceCentral/SF1DISASM

Only a few binary data types have been split :
https://github.com/ShiningForceCentral/SF1DISASM/blob/master/split/sf1splits.txt

But that could be a good alternative way of building ROMs if necessary, and motivated people can even use IDA Pro and project SF1RE to make progress with more binary/ASM splits for more flexibility :
https://github.com/ShiningForceCentral/SF1RE


You've mentioned this before, but the problem is I'd like to work from rubix's added code, since it's almost functional. The only problem is it doesn't move through the array of sprite IDs properly, which should be a relatively easy fix if I had it disassembled.

I'd rather not rewrite the entire Extended Characters code if I don't have to, since everything besides the sprite pointer works.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Runesamurai » Mon Apr 16 2018 10:03pm

MangekyoSaiyan wrote:
Runesamurai wrote:
Tyadran wrote:Then "oh well". We work with what we have. It's not the end of the world.

That's easy for you to say. I really wanted extended characters to be completed so I can make and use my own characters and finally be able to edit map sprites.

Even if he doesn't come back who's to say we can't find a fix ourselves? I have full confidence we could pull through if we have too.

Hopefully someone just as capable will end up taking over if he doesn't come back. How long should we give him?
Tyadran wrote:You can already edit map sprites. You don't need extended characters for that.

As a side note, I've got spell randomization working for Mages now. Considering how worthless Muddle is in SF1 I'm thinking I'll remove that from the spells possible for them to learn since I don't see anyone really wanting to end up with that.

I couldn't agree more. What does Muddle even do in SF1?
Runesamurai

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Dec 11 2017 10:49pm

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Kane To The Max » Sat Apr 21 2018 10:53pm

Does anyone know the main cause of the NPC/priest glitch? The tool seems so unstable sometimes and it's very time consuming to find out which changes cause crashes. (I'm not using extended characters or items)

I had everything working, then made a small insignificant change to the graphics, and it started glitching when talking to the priest.

I'm about to give up for awhile, as I have spent many weeks on my MOD and have it right where I want it, just can't everything imported without getting a glitch.

Any insight here will be a huge help. I've even made a checklist to isolate changes that causes glitches...This is tedious as hell (but still fun...just getting a tad tiring)
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 21 2014 8:58pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Sat Apr 21 2018 10:56pm

Is the glitch occurring during a new game, or are you loading a save/savestate?
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Kane To The Max » Sun Apr 22 2018 12:04am

It was first happening during a save/savestate game. Then it started crashing as I added a few things.

I then wanted to just to create a base of all of my graphic changes and save it, so I wouldn't have to keep updating that part whenever it crashed at a later time. I added all my graphic changes ONLY, and I get an NPC glitch when starting a new game. My graphic changes consist of:

1) Enemies: A few palette changes, added battle sprites in spots 42-45
2) Force: Changed palettes, movement graphics in second frame of all members, added sprites in spots 35 & 36 (not used, just have them ready if/when extended characters ever works)
3) 27 additional map sprites
4) 3 new weapons sprites
5) 6 new portraits

Again these all worked for awhile. I got to chapter 3 and made a slight change to a Lizardman, and it started breaking. Granted I had all my edits in place at the time, but it was working fine until then. I started from scratch again with ONLY the graphic changes mentioned above, nothing else; and I get the NPC/priest glitch in the beginning of the game. Just goes black when talking to them.
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 21 2014 8:58pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Sun Apr 22 2018 12:16am

I assume when you added all the graphic changes you expanded the ROM to an identical size to the one you exported from?
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Kane To The Max » Sun Apr 22 2018 12:37am

I just checked and the one I backed up with the changes wasn't expanded. I just expanded it to 6 megs and saved. Deleted the SRM files. It is still crashing when speaking to NPC's or the first priest. Don't know what the heck happened here...
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 21 2014 8:58pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Sun Apr 22 2018 12:40am

Try expanding a new ROM before importing the graphics, then try running it.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Kane To The Max » Sun Apr 22 2018 12:41am

ok I will...There's no way to import palettes for the force battle sprites right? That's what's killing me in having to keep redoing...
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 21 2014 8:58pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Sun Apr 22 2018 12:42am

I mean, don't bother with the palettes until you can import the graphics without getting crashes.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Kane To The Max » Sun Apr 22 2018 1:02am

Ok that worked. Now what your saying make all the changes I want i.e. (palettes, force members, items, classes, etc.) to an unsaved game. Then start a new game and it shouldn't glitch on me?

Can things like speaking dialogue and battles be changed during a saved game for testing purposes? I've made a huge story and battle overhaul.
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 21 2014 8:58pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Sun Apr 22 2018 1:05am

Nah, what I'm saying is that if you load a game, adding things like graphics shifts where things are located in the ROM, so your saved game is probably looking at data that isn't there anymore.
Battles/dialogue shouldn't get shifted unless you tell them to, so you should be able to change them whenever with no problems. Just be wary if you add graphics/use "Extend" options/change data offsets and then try to load a saved game. Aside from that, just make backups often so that when the game does stop working you have something to revert to.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Kane To The Max » Sun Apr 22 2018 1:17am

ok gotcha. Thanks a lot. Hopefully I can finish this thing soon. It's been a work in progress for awhile now...

Thanks for all the help, I was about to give up...
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
Ha! I knew you couldn't hide in there forever! Come on out, little hero!
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Aug 21 2014 8:58pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PreviousNext

Return to Shining Force

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 0 guests