Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

SF1 Editor

Updated 7/8/17 (v2.12.5)

Discussion about the original classic Genesis/Mega Drive game. Posts about the GBA remake belong in the forum below.

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby monkbarron » Tue Sep 12 2017 3:27am

That's great!
:sleep: Z Will Always Dominate Any SF TAS :sleep:
:sleep: Z Will Always Dominate Any SF TAS :sleep:
monkbarron

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 22 2017 2:38am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby projectego » Fri Sep 29 2017 10:27am

Hey all! Long time no see! RC just uploaded a video on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZglOf5rsjsA

Just wanted to let you guys know that he is indeed alive and well. Hope you are all still enjoying modding Shining Force!
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
projectego

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Mar 12 2009 9:10pm
Location: England

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Bilb Ono » Sun Oct 08 2017 4:24pm

Does anyone know of a resource that explains how the map data is stored in the ROM? In other words, how does the editor read and display the map data? I have each of the 8x8 tiles defined, but I've been looking at the section of the ROM where the maps are stored and it's not obvious how to read them.

Edit: It looks like it would be easiest to open and save the ROM first to move the map data to the expanded area of the ROM, does that sound correct?
Bilb Ono

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 17 2017 5:30am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby ShininGeek » Wed Oct 11 2017 7:37pm

I believe I asked a similar question to Rubix a while ago. He said that map data is stored in different locations, making it difficult to copy and paste the map data directly in the ROM. Additionally, the base game handles maps with 3X3 tiles constructed via the 8X8 tiles you have copied, making the raw map values useless if you are using a different tiling method. The easiest way to recreate the maps, unfortunately, will probably be an individual reconstruction by hand, which will make several areas a pain *coughpaocough*
Perfection is not an option, it is a requirement.
Perfection is not an option, it is a requirement.
ShininGeek

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Nov 03 2013 6:12pm

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Bilb Ono » Sat Oct 14 2017 12:10am

I forgot to mention, I actually have those 3x3 tiles defined as well.

I guess I'll just tweak a map in the editor and save it and see what changed in the ROM.
Bilb Ono

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 17 2017 5:30am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby projectego » Mon Nov 06 2017 12:25am

Hope you all are still having a blast with the Editor! I've found that this quiet period has been intrinsic to better understanding some of the lesser-used options that have been available. Dan and I are still pressing on as ever with new graphics, and now for even more areas of the game.

This development break should also mean that RC can enjoy spending more time with his other personal projects. Here's to hoping that he'll be able to bring us up to speed with his progress on his Mega Man editor and bespoke game engine when he has some time available.

Keep on modding, gang!
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
projectego

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Mar 12 2009 9:10pm
Location: England

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby monkbarron » Wed Nov 08 2017 4:37am

Well, it's great to hear from you Steve! Anyways, I just got my hands on a AT Games Hand-held Sega Genesis. SF 1 + 2 are on it, and I managed to fix the sound, along with getting my ROM hacks on it.
:sleep: Z Will Always Dominate Any SF TAS :sleep:
:sleep: Z Will Always Dominate Any SF TAS :sleep:
monkbarron

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 22 2017 2:38am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby projectego » Wed Nov 08 2017 12:54pm

Woo-hoo! Hey MB! I didn't even know that ATGames made a handheld version... will definitely need to try and get my hands on one of those. I know that they did a good job with the Genesis 3 anyway.

Awesome to hear that you were able to get ROM hacks working on it. How are you mods coming along, man?

Edit: Whoops! Turns out it was Majesco that manufactured the Genesis 3 - my bad!
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
projectego

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Mar 12 2009 9:10pm
Location: England

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby monkbarron » Fri Nov 10 2017 5:41am

Heh, nice! Say, when can we 'crack' down on 12 man marathon?
:sleep: Z Will Always Dominate Any SF TAS :sleep:
:sleep: Z Will Always Dominate Any SF TAS :sleep:
monkbarron

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 22 2017 2:38am

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby projectego » Sat Nov 11 2017 9:22pm

Sounds interesting! What's involved? At the moment I'm looking at putting together plans for a Marvel-themed total conversion mod. Exciting times!
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
projectego

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Mar 12 2009 9:10pm
Location: England

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Sat Nov 18 2017 10:49am

I don't know if this has come up yet, since I've been out of action for a while, but I wanted to mention some apparent issues with using Jogurt's character slot, even with "Jogurt Levels" turned on.

For whatever reason, characters in that slot won't roll level ups for their starting level, instead joining the Force with only their base stats. Upon their first level up, of course, their stats will shoot up like crazy as they try to fix their values. Not sure how easily fixable this is.

Also they still get a Jogurt Ring when defeating an enemy. I thought I remembered this being removed at some point, but I could be wrong? Probably less of an issue than not getting stat rolls if you're using the slot for a later-game character.

Image

EDIT:
I'm also having issues with the proper battle sprite displaying for extended characters? Kane should be using 19 (HERO) but instead is using 0 (SDMN). Not sure if I'm just dumb or if this is actually an issue.
Image
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby projectego » Mon Nov 27 2017 11:44pm

Hey Tyadran. I've been meaning to find time to attempt to reproduce your bug, but unfortunately this evening just as I've managed to get some time to myself, I've been hit by repeated editor crashes when attempting to load a clean SF1 ROM file.

I'm not sure if it's a result of the new Windows 10 Fall Creator's Update, but it's a becoming a bit of a nuisance. I've even attempted running the editor under Compatibility mode and with Admin privileges, but sadly no dice. Anybody else ran into these problems? I currently do not have access to my other Windows 8 PC so can't double-check any of this.
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
projectego

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Mar 12 2009 9:10pm
Location: England

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Tue Nov 28 2017 2:13am

Hmm, that's odd. I haven't personally had any issues with the editor after the update. I wonder what's up.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby projectego » Thu Nov 30 2017 2:02pm

Scratch that, looks like all of my ROM dumps were bad (seems that my Retrode dumps were not 100% on point) and I'm instead using the official ROM from Sega's Classics bundle on Steam.

So, back to work I go! Are you still having issues with the graphics with your mod?
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
Oh, hi! I'm Steve. Catch me on Steam.
projectego

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Mar 12 2009 9:10pm
Location: England

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Thu Nov 30 2017 2:15pm

Yeah, nothing has changed since my post about the graphics issues.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby ShininGeek » Thu Dec 07 2017 9:57pm

I've actually had the same issue. I have no idea what caused it or how to fix it, buuuuuuuut I'm also having an issue with the game crashing as soon as Various tries to speak at the beginning soooo... Yeah
Perfection is not an option, it is a requirement.
Perfection is not an option, it is a requirement.
ShininGeek

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Nov 03 2013 6:12pm

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Fri Dec 08 2017 1:22am

Have you messed with the scripting/dialogue at all?
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby ShininGeek » Fri Dec 08 2017 1:30am

Yeah, it happens quite frequently, often when I haven't changed the scripting/dialogue between saves, so I'll usually just finalize all of my changes then copy over to a clean rom
Perfection is not an option, it is a requirement.
Perfection is not an option, it is a requirement.
ShininGeek

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Nov 03 2013 6:12pm

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby Tyadran » Fri Dec 08 2017 2:02am

That's really strange. I've never had that happen before.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran - Modding Sega Genesis games since 2013.
Check me out on YouTube.
Tyadran

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Feb 16 2014 7:20pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Re: SF1 Editor

Postby ShininGeek » Fri Dec 08 2017 1:32pm

I've only made extensive-ish changes in one or two places, though the crashes usually appear after I edit a different section. It's annoying, but I'm able to work around it. The crashes typically never carry over to the new rom
Perfection is not an option, it is a requirement.
Perfection is not an option, it is a requirement.
ShininGeek

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Nov 03 2013 6:12pm

PreviousNext

Return to Shining Force

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 0 guests