Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums All Things Shining
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

Playing Shining Force 1, 2, and CD with the original names

If your topic relates to more than one Shining game, post it here!

Playing Shining Force 1, 2, and CD with the original names

Postby Za4 » Wed Jul 26 2017 2:16am

I recently felt like playing through the series again, and I wanted to use the original names for the characters, so I was looking up the original names and how to rename them.
I decided to collect all the information together in a picture guide to make it easier.

It's uploaded here:http://imgur.com/a/ZuzSZ

I know the Shining Studies page has translations for all the names, which was really useful.
I thought a few of the translations weren't quite right so I didn't follow it exactly, although I'm no expert in Japanese, so I might be wrong.
Za4

Re: Playing Shining Force 1, 2, and CD with the original nam

Postby sulfuroxp » Thu Jul 27 2017 7:37pm

It's 99,6% correct
the ninja name is Hanz┼Ź
Sara, without "H"
Mary Ann or Mary Anne, not Marian
Game"s"u
sulfuroxp

Lost Shining Purple
Shining Legend

Postby Cullsoft » Thu Jul 27 2017 9:53pm

Za4 - Even though my Katakana knowledge is rusty in places, at a glance your chart looks good. :) One spelling that I might reconsider is "Aleph" - I'm not sure how prominent the "e" sound should be in this case (as it's sometimes silent like in "-u" characters), but I've sometimes wondered if this was meant to be pronounced "Alf", which can be short for Alison.