Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force CD
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Also incorporating Shining Force Gaiden 1 & Shining Force Gaiden 2 (aka Sword of Hajya).

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Bambix » Sun Nov 06 2016 8:56pm

Well, bad news...

I went through the start of book two, skipping the anoying freeze by checking "perfect sync" in Fusion.
I then whent to the first battle, cast egress, saved, went where the .brm file is stored on my PC, copied it where the original .brm file was in my android device, and I get this message "Backup RAM cartridge is not initialized. Press reset and go to the control screen to initialize".

I don't even know what this control screen is or how to find it :(
Bambix

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 29 2016 7:39pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby alex_man » Tue Nov 08 2016 4:10am

use gens emulator :)
alex_man

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 2224
Joined: Sun Nov 14 2004 2:39pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Bambix » Tue Nov 08 2016 5:07am

Hello alex_man.

Thanks for your suggestion, but I play on an android device ^^

In the meantime, I went to cry for help on reddit, and one guy found out why Retroarch crashed

not all emulators use the same BIOS.
According to this link, the US BIOS needs to be named bios_CD_U.bin.


So now it works.
But Retroarch is just awfull. So I managed to load the brm that I had created with md.emu into retroarch.
Now I just have to avoid the freeze in retroarch; save, and load back in md.emu :)

Thank you all for your help ♥
Bambix

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 29 2016 7:39pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby RedShine » Wed Nov 09 2016 3:24am

Bambix wrote:So now it works.
But Retroarch is just awfull. So I managed to load the brm that I had created with md.emu into retroarch.
Now I just have to avoid the freeze in retroarch; save, and load back in md.emu :)

Thank you all for your help ♥


You can say that again, Bambix, Retroarch needs to take a master class in usability and UI design.
I'm glad you found a way around it, even if it is extremely troublesome.
It all boils down to the sync issue, really. Every emulator should have it by default, considering the hardware that exists today, it shouldn't be costly resource wise to implement as a norm, rather than the exception.
RedShine

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Apr 05 2014 6:22am

Re: Book 2 freeze. no perfect sync option

Postby Radd890 » Sun Feb 19 2017 12:24am

Sorry for the necro...hope someone sees this.
Just finished book 1 on MD.Emu, loaded up book 2, cont. w/ my save from book 1. Obviously it freezes and MD.Emu still has no perfect sync.

2 questions now...

1) Where do I find my BRM for MD.Emu so I can load it into retroarch
and
2) Where does retroarch save so I know where to put said BRM

Bonus question....Pico or Genesis on Retroarch?

I had a completely empty day to play this today and i've been stumped for hours trying to fix it :thumbsup:
Radd890

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 19 2017 12:20am

Previous

Return to Shining Force CD

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest