Welcome to the Shining Force Central Forums!
SFC Forums Index Shining Forums Shining Force III SFIII Translation Project
Register for your free forum account now or Login to remove this advert.

Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Please read first post first!

A place for those working on the Shining Force III Translation Patch.

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby alex_man » Fri Oct 24 2014 2:06am

use the version 0.10alpha r3 :thumbsup:
alex_man

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 2201
Joined: Sun Nov 14 2004 2:39pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Evil Gately » Fri Oct 24 2014 8:33pm

Haven't had a chance to check out 0.10alpha r3 yet, but I'm getting a similar problem playing on my modded Saturn... During the inside half of the fight, when Pappet's beasts get their turn the screen scrambles and only a reset cures it. The game still functions, as I have managed to save, switch back to the original legit disc and pick up again with no problems. I'll keep you posted, though!
Darksol @ Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:02 am wrote:You have fallen from the path of righteous drunken adventures and now find yourself seeking cheap thrills at the expense of your pride. Remember, for a drunken adventure to be glorious, it cannot be scripted. And it certainly cannot be sewn.

He's fire and Ice
And Rage
He's like the night and the storm in the heart of the sun

He's ancient and Forever
He burns at the centre of time
And he can see the turn of the universe


Facebook (tell me who you are if you send a request!)

PSN ID: WingDagger (see above!)
Darksol @ Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:02 am wrote:You have fallen from the path of righteous drunken adventures and now find yourself seeking cheap thrills at the expense of your pride. Remember, for a drunken adventure to be glorious, it cannot be scripted. And it certainly cannot be sewn.

He's fire and Ice
And Rage
He's like the night and the storm in the heart of the sun

He's ancient and Forever
He burns at the centre of time
And he can see the turn of the universe


Facebook (tell me who you are if you send a request!)

PSN ID: WingDagger (see above!)
Evil Gately

User avatar
Agent of Karma
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1783
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 7:49pm
Location: Isle of Wight, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Sat Oct 25 2014 6:14am

This should have been fixed in V15 or before.

Can you verify all of Pappets pets have names on their info panel. If not, which ones don't?

Thanks!
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Evil Gately » Sun Oct 26 2014 7:19pm

Here's a more detailed description of the issue:

According to the title screen, I am using version 15. I had a wyvern, a queen worm and a minotaur recruited, and it was definitely only the wyvern itself that caused the screen to distort. If an enemy attacks the Wyvern, the visuals glitch briefly, the attack plays out as normal (with no writing in the wyvern's in-battle cut-scene info box), but when the action returns to the map, the visuals are completely scrambled as described in my original post.

If the enemy targets the wyvern but selects another unit to attack, the visuals instantly scramble. The same occurs when the wyvern gets its turn.

After confirming the other beasts don't trigger this effect by saving/rebooting after the wyvern's turn, I tried using support on the others to alter the turn order, and everything played normally until one of the triggers I have already mentioned.

I switched back to the original disc and allowed the wyvern to die, returned to the patched disc and everything ran perfectly for the remainder of the battle. The only thing I cannot confirm is whether friendly targeting (ie, healing or support) also causes the bug.

Another couple of issues I ran into in the interim: This one may be in the list of known bugs (I'm sorry, laziness abounds! :P ) but the spell names aren't displaying properly for me in the status screen. Well, at least not in the Storich HQ, anyway! The first two are correct, then spell 3 will only show the first 4 letters and then the 'additional' spell (ie, the one from the equipped weapon) doesn't have a name at all.

Finally, in the last battle, I whittled the enemy down to just Tybalt and got him cornered on the high ramparts, near the staircase. I tried to switch Arthur's equipped weapon and the game couldn't seem to load his inventory. I could still spin the camera and the music carried on as normal, but even after 5 minutes the menu had not opened... I tried this several times, and the same thing occurred each time. I'd switched Medion's weapon just a few moves before with no trouble...
Darksol @ Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:02 am wrote:You have fallen from the path of righteous drunken adventures and now find yourself seeking cheap thrills at the expense of your pride. Remember, for a drunken adventure to be glorious, it cannot be scripted. And it certainly cannot be sewn.

He's fire and Ice
And Rage
He's like the night and the storm in the heart of the sun

He's ancient and Forever
He burns at the centre of time
And he can see the turn of the universe


Facebook (tell me who you are if you send a request!)

PSN ID: WingDagger (see above!)
Darksol @ Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:02 am wrote:You have fallen from the path of righteous drunken adventures and now find yourself seeking cheap thrills at the expense of your pride. Remember, for a drunken adventure to be glorious, it cannot be scripted. And it certainly cannot be sewn.

He's fire and Ice
And Rage
He's like the night and the storm in the heart of the sun

He's ancient and Forever
He burns at the centre of time
And he can see the turn of the universe


Facebook (tell me who you are if you send a request!)

PSN ID: WingDagger (see above!)
Evil Gately

User avatar
Agent of Karma
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1783
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 7:49pm
Location: Isle of Wight, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Tue Nov 04 2014 12:54pm

This should be a quick fix once I hunt it down. I'll look into it and contact you if I can't find it.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Evil Gately » Tue Nov 04 2014 5:09pm

Cool, no worries!
Darksol @ Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:02 am wrote:You have fallen from the path of righteous drunken adventures and now find yourself seeking cheap thrills at the expense of your pride. Remember, for a drunken adventure to be glorious, it cannot be scripted. And it certainly cannot be sewn.

He's fire and Ice
And Rage
He's like the night and the storm in the heart of the sun

He's ancient and Forever
He burns at the centre of time
And he can see the turn of the universe


Facebook (tell me who you are if you send a request!)

PSN ID: WingDagger (see above!)
Darksol @ Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:02 am wrote:You have fallen from the path of righteous drunken adventures and now find yourself seeking cheap thrills at the expense of your pride. Remember, for a drunken adventure to be glorious, it cannot be scripted. And it certainly cannot be sewn.

He's fire and Ice
And Rage
He's like the night and the storm in the heart of the sun

He's ancient and Forever
He burns at the centre of time
And he can see the turn of the universe


Facebook (tell me who you are if you send a request!)

PSN ID: WingDagger (see above!)
Evil Gately

User avatar
Agent of Karma
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1783
Joined: Thu Sep 16 2004 7:49pm
Location: Isle of Wight, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby BlacksmithJAM » Mon Mar 09 2015 5:19pm

I have come across 2 crash points with the latest patch for scenario 2.
emulator SSF 009 alpha R4
latest patcher.
points of crash and auto reset points:
1st after first battle. the first time medion meets synbios. When medion does his first ..... speech in that trigger point (right before dantares speaks for the first time alerting Campbell who he is.)
2nd crash point is at Switch point. when Benetram and Synbios are talking. game reloads to loading screens.

ways I get around it: use patch v12 instead of current or unpatched version.

something is corrupting the synbios synchronization points (places you can say yes/no and get him to say something different in scenario 2.)
I loaded saved play from scenario 1. looks like a runtime corruption bug. these are the only points ive found so far.
BlacksmithJAM

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 09 2015 4:58pm

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Hrith » Sun Jun 14 2015 1:02pm

Hello.

I have been using this amazing patch since v.12 - I was not aware of it sooner, and I never had too much trouble reading Japanese, but I decided to try it anyway, for playing Sc2 and Sc3 in English was a dream of mine since 1998, really.

I had a lot of suggestions for v.12, but I got busy, then forgot, etc. I had no idea the project was still alive; I am so glad.
I'm playing the games again, now, using v.16 and trying to read everything to check for mistakes or errors here and there.

So first let me tell you how grateful I am for the work the team has done. SFIII is definitely one of my favourite games of all time, and this translation project keeps it worth playing, even if it's only every four years... (it is a long game)

I can be a bit rough in my manners, so please do not mistake them for ungratefulness. My appreciation of your work is genuine.

First I have a remark about the entire project, not just scenario 2:
It seems you have decided to use real English and not a dialect, which is cool, it makes a lot more sense for a game set in a medieval-fantastic atmosphere. However, you are not very consistent with it at all. If you spell 'armour', 'favour' and 'honour', then all words should follow the same rule, thus they should be spelt 'paralyse', 'organise', 'realise' with an 's' and not a 'z'.

On that topic: http://i.imgur.com/eN10OQV.png

For the same reason, with words that end with one 'l', it should be doubled when inflected: 'traveller', 'travelled', 'travelling', etc.

This is all for the sake of consistency, mind, but after reading the news stories on http://sf3trans.shiningforcecentral.com/ you seem to be concerned with consistency.


Now, here are a few snapshots I have taken while playing Scenario 2:
http://i.imgur.com/c2ed35S.png
http://i.imgur.com/6ARSYnE.png
http://i.imgur.com/DxbXJwN.png
http://i.imgur.com/CptbIbz.png
http://i.imgur.com/v2u9H5w.png
http://i.imgur.com/bAf9Ung.png
http://i.imgur.com/uIu26gq.png
http://i.imgur.com/crdQg6R.png
http://i.imgur.com/olxs89Q.png
Hrith

User avatar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 1:21pm
Location: France

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Sun Jun 14 2015 1:20pm

Thank you for your kind words and your thoughtful feedback!

Spellings are the way they are on purpose. Spellings from both Europe and America were used intentionally to be inclusive of both since this patch is "primarily" for those two continents.

As for why the individual spellings were used... They seemed to fit the Shining universe. Armour fits. Paralyze fits, and so on. All while trying to keep the number from each region about even.

I'm glad you are enjoying the patch. Hopefully this will put your mind at ease when reading these "errors" and you can enjoy it even more!

As for the other noted errors. I will make sure they get corrected. Thank you for taking the time to document them. I welcome any feedback you have as you continue your play though.

Notes:
1. Anything past chapter 2 has not been polished and subject to these kinds of things.
2. JuMeSyn (or similar) is generated by the game. It uses the first letter or two from each name no matter what names the player uses. It's not really a translation.
Last edited by legalize freedom on Sun Jun 14 2015 1:34pm, edited 1 time in total.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Hrith » Sun Jun 14 2015 1:34pm

The 'Shining universe' to me is primarily in Japanese, so no English spelling feels more appropriate, but it's my real-life job to correct such mistakes >_>;

I thought it was on purpose; the quality of the project being what it is, I doubted this was an oversight.

Notes:
1. Anything past chapter 2 has not been polished and subject to these kinds of things.
2. JuMeSyn (or similar) is generated by the game. It uses the first letter or two from each name no matter what names the player uses. It's not really a translation.

Oh, but I don't remember that in v.12. Sorry for lashing out, but I did warn you about my rough manners :P

I'm currently playing sc3 (started ch4) and noting down anything I think may improve the project, but the mistakes are all very minor, and it's mostly nit-picking.
Hrith

User avatar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 1:21pm
Location: France

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Sun Jun 14 2015 2:31pm

No lashing out detected. I appreciate the feedback. Your manners are fine. You have a unique perspective with your profession...

I like nit-picky. That's my approach.

One thing I would ask of you is to let me know the location of the screenshot (either in a separate txt file or on the screen itself. Scenario, Chapter, Town, Battle #, etc. so I can find the issue in the game files.

Thank you! :thumbsup:
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Chinagonuk » Sun Jun 14 2015 9:28pm

Forgive me if i'm wrong, but isn't 'ran' the correct way to say 'run' in the past tense?
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Mon Jun 15 2015 1:59am

Chinagonuk wrote:Forgive me if i'm wrong, but isn't 'ran' the correct way to say 'run' in the past tense?


Agreed. That one looks okay as is.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Hrith » Thu Jul 02 2015 2:00am

Chinagonuk wrote:Forgive me if i'm wrong, but isn't 'ran' the correct way to say 'run' in the past tense?
You are wrong :D
The tense here is not the preterit (past), but the perfect, so we need the past participle, not the preterit form.

I run (present).
I ran (preterit).
I have run (perfect).

IIRC...
http://i.imgur.com/c2ed35S.png - headquarters in Rhineside, chapter 2.
http://i.imgur.com/6ARSYnE.png - beginning cutscene of chapter 3 in Stump.
http://i.imgur.com/DxbXJwN.png - first encounter with David in Stump, chapter 3.
http://i.imgur.com/CptbIbz.png - left, battle #12 in Stump, chapter 3 - right, battle #18 in Elbesem Temple, chapter 4.
http://i.imgur.com/bAf9Ung.png - right before battle #21 in Saraband, chapter 5.
http://i.imgur.com/uIu26gq.png - cutscene in Storich Station Hotel in chapter 6.
http://i.imgur.com/crdQg6R.png - refugee in the Storich Station waiting room, if Synbios saved him/her in Sc1, chapter 6.
http://i.imgur.com/olxs89Q.png - ending cutscene right after battle #30, chapter 6.
Hrith

User avatar
Member
Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 17 2004 1:21pm
Location: France

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Chinagonuk » Fri Jul 03 2015 4:10pm

You learn something new everyday:-)
Chinagonuk

User avatar
Shining Member
Shining Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Mar 19 2013 4:44pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby Carandor » Mon Aug 17 2015 9:56pm

^^The refugee in Storich station is using the correct grammer, although with the medieval setting and the refugee probably being a commoner, they probably wouldn't be using correct grammer.

In Airos village in chapter 5, there is a women by the item shop that mentions Baersol being to the east of the village, when the official map (it's somewhere on this site) shows Baersol is to the west.
Carandor

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 25 2014 7:40pm

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Wed Aug 19 2015 11:42am

Carandor wrote:^^The refugee in Storich station is using the correct grammer, although with the medieval setting and the refugee probably being a commoner, they probably wouldn't be using correct grammer.

In Airos village in chapter 5, there is a women by the item shop that mentions Baersol being to the east of the village, when the official map (it's somewhere on this site) shows Baersol is to the west.


Good point.

Thanks! I'll get it fixed.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby bpislife » Tue Sep 08 2015 4:28am

First, I must say I am completley blown away. I played Scenario 2 for the very first time tonight and I forgot that I was playing a translated game. Well done!

I did want to point out one extremely minor Inconsistency between Scenario 1 and 2. When saying in a church, scenario 1 says "Saving. Please do not power the system down" or something like that where in scenario 2 it says "saving, do not power the system down, please" In other words please is at the end instead of the beginning. Minor like I said, but I figured you may want to keep the series consistent.

Great work again!
bpislife

Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 19 2015 3:42am

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby legalize freedom » Tue Oct 06 2015 6:20pm

Thank you for the kind words.

I will get it fixed up.

Thanks!

Update: I didn't see any difference in the 'don't power down' lines across the scenarios. You'll have to elaborate on what you saw and provide a screenshot.
legalize freedom

User avatar
Shining Legend
Shining Legend
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Sat Apr 29 2006 4:09am
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Scenario 2 Error Report Topic

Postby KiwisBelch » Wed Oct 07 2015 10:55pm

mciccarone wrote:I was encountering the same Crash at Ch1 Benetram/Valarant speech at the rail yard.

Setting the EZ settings Highest Compatibility worked perfectly



Thank you Mciccarone!
KiwisBelch

User avatar
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 07 2015 3:49pm
Location: little ways from the sun

PreviousNext

Return to SFIII Translation Project

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest